Entry 200: Echo- Shadows & Insanity

Into the dark corridors of the ship

Deeper and deeper I went

My mind lost and scarred

I wasn’t sure who I was anymore

Oh the sadness and the pain

Was I the Devil or could I be a Saint?

On and on I ran

Probably towards my sanity’s end

The halls grew darker still

No doubt the ship had changed them again

I was wandering through a maze

For which there was no end

Groaning grew loud inside my mind

The whispers of the past dead echoing

If only I could find a way

To tell the truth from fiction this day

Sadly as the blood oozed from the walls

It became more and more apparent

This was not

A place where a happy end

Would be something I could attain

Their voices had grown

Tearing my soul in two

The whispers were driving me mad!

I knew nothing of the place I was in

Finally when I thought the hall would not end

The whispers continuing to tell my sins

It did…

I stood before a clock

The biggest I’d ever seen

It ticked persistently

Foretelling of the unknown

What was the purpose of this clock?

Every minute passed there would be a groan

Still the minutes passed like seconds

Hours like minutes

My reality distorted

Nothing made sense

I was barely conscious of anything anymore

Everything had felt a dream

Slowly driving me into insanity

It’d worked, I didn’t know who I was

Where I was

Anything…

The halls grew dim

The clock continued to tick

It now glowed a deathly black and white

The only light within the darkness at this point

Wake up! WAKE UP! WAKE UP!

The whispers began to chant

DO IT BEFORE HE COMES!

THE CLOCK TICKS CLOSER TO HIS TIME

RUN RUN RUN AND HIDE

IF YOU DON’T YOU’LL SURELY DIE!

There was a sudden fear that struck my soul

The likes of which I could never describe

I did not know who he was

I could however hear him coming

In the darkness of the halls

I heard their screams

Which soon were snuffed out

…slowly….

I turned and ran

I had no plan

I ran from something

For which Death was no escape

Running endlessly

I could not see its face

Still the screaming died out

The quieter it got

I knew the closer came my end

Such was the way of these things

The madness ever growing!

Yes…YES! I’M JUST A DEMENTED MAN!

LOST WITHIN HIS MIND!

THIS IS THE NIGHTMARE OF MY LIFE!

MADNESS I’VE BECOME!

I’M USELESS TO EVERYONE!

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!

MY THOUGHTS AREN’T MY OWN

HE ALWAYS KNOWS THEM

NONE CAN HIDE FROM HIS GAZE

HE KNOWS ALL THE WICKED’S WAYS!

I’ll…I’ll tear apart my flesh

PIECE BY PIECE!

Yes…yes that will fix my instability…

Surrounded in the darkness of the world I wait…

The shadows whisper many names

Here I sit peeling at my flesh

Watching the blood begin to drip

Scratching…

…SLOWLY…

-Echo: Shadows & Insanity-

Leave a Reply

