Entry 95: The Nightmare Raven

There is a Raven that wanders the streets

Everywhere it goes, something terrible happens

The Nightmare Raven it is called

Quite often seen in dreams

It caws, telling you of your death or some other impending threat

Sometimes though, it comes to you in waking life

Although it is native to Black Winter

Some have reported seeing it

On the other side

There is a child that claimed they were safe and warm in their home

When one night The Nightmare Raven came to their window

It let out its call and nothing much was remembered next

Until the boy awoke in Black Winter lost as can be

He now works in a bar, earning a living by cleaning the place

Never again to see his families face

The Nightmare Raven is quite distinct

It’s caw quite like a mad mans shrieks!

Some say a woman travels with it at times

Others say she is never far behind

She carries a black scythe

However that is a tale for another time

The Nightmare Raven is even said to be able to transform

Into a black shadow, wraith like in form

So, if ever you hear a mad mans shriek

Should you see a Raven

Know…

…It is likely The Nightmare Raven coming for you…

Perhaps you too, will wake up in Black Winter soon

-The Nightmare Raven-

27 thoughts on “Entry 95: The Nightmare Raven

  1. Black Winter is a very interesting place, things are just a little off. I like that a lot, much to think about. Maybe Black Winter is the true reality, and we are living in some sort of distortion. The Nightmare Raven is just doing his job. Wonderfully creative, I love how your poems reference information from other works, brilliant! Please have a wonderful day. ~ Mia

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you kindly wonderful soul! Perhaps it is reality indeed. An interesting thought. Now you have me thinking! You are right, The Nightmare Raven is just doing its job. I’m glad things feel a little bit off as well.

      They are supposed to. Thank you for reading and for your kind words. I truly hope your day is an amazing one.

      Cheers! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

      • Poe, wonderful. A couple of my favorites, “A Dream Within A Dream, and “The Bells”. You’re probably familiar with, “Porphyria’s Lover” by Robert Browning, if you haven’t read it, it’s not very long and I think you would like it. It is another favorite of mine. (Porphyria is a disease.)

        Have a wonderful Saturday. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • “The Bells” and “A Dream Within A Dream” are both great poems! I really love “The Bells”! I also really love “The Raven” (obviously). One of my favorite short stories by Poe was “The Tell Tale Heart”. I just love that one!

        I remember being in school and reading Poe and thinking this man is brilliant! I’ve always admired his work. I will check out “Porphyria’s Lover” by Robert Browning right now. Thank you so much for recommending it. I’m a tad shocked I haven’t read it.

        Cheers! ^_^

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m pleased that you enjoyed it. πŸ™‚

        The critics were not kind at all to Browning, he wrote several in this tone and style. I’ve always believed it was an outlet for him, as it must have been unbearable to live with his wife, Elizabeth.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Well, quite often critics don’t recognize greatness in artists until after death. This poem definitely reads like an outlet. Xp He seems like he has quite a bit of pent up frustration. πŸ™‚

        Still, it hauntingly well put together. ^_^

        Liked by 1 person

      • HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Xp I’m sorry about the excess Haha…but I am rolling at your comment about it being “hard to hear the praise when you are dead.”

        The delivery is very matter of fact and it appeals to my morbid sense of humor. I imagine it could be. Still, many an artist (sadly) suffers from this fate.

        Many of the greats did, regardless of their medium of art.

        Thank you for the lovely conversation.

        Cheers! ^_^

        Liked by 1 person

      • It was meant to be funny, yet true. So many great artists faced the struggle and the angst only to go to their graves thinking that they were failures. Everything comes full circle, if only they had lived long enough to see this trend in history. πŸ™‚ Thank you, it’s a delight to share these thoughts. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ll scatter some bird seeds by my window so the Nightmare Raven can visit! I love your poem. Thanks for letting me know about the raven — I thought it was a black cat that conjured my nightmares and was putting cat food out. I now know better! Ha. No wonder I wasn’t getting enough bad dreams. A million thanks!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ravens always conjure the battlefield for me. Circling ravenous birds screaming for the meal they will soon be feasting upon. It’s easy for me to take any conflict, in any time, and place a raven in it feasting on the fallen. I sometimes wonder if the Valkyrie wings the Norse believed were coming to take them to Valhalla really were just their dying eyes and brain converting the images of the circling ravens.

    Hah! Rant aside, another great addition to Black Winter. It’s funny because when you introduce certain being in your work I’m waiting to see if they are residents. You’ve really done a great job of establishing a living place in my mind. Now you are slowly populating that place with dark creations. Black Winter is a future book ripe with dark illustrations.

    You know I live right on the outskirts of Black Winter. So should I dump out my bird feeder and start shoving rotting meat into it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Interesting thoughts on the Norse and Valkyrie. I never thought of it that way. Perhaps that was it or perhaps there really were Valkyrie gathering the strong souls of the damned and preparing them for war one again?

      Hehe, I’m sure The Nightmare Raven would love the meat! I’ve always loved Ravens. I know they are quite often used a symbolism for death (and that is awesome) still, I just liked the bird. This poem was inspired by many things. Part of it was a bit of a nod to my favorite poet of all time, part of it was my love for the bird itself, and part of it was an experience I had a while back where a Raven stalked me for the better part of my walk to work.

      Mostly though, I just love the bird, its symbolism in literature and I usually find a certain beauty in the darker things. I appreciate you always taking the time to read and give your thoughts on my poems. I’m endlessly entertained by the discussions we have both here and on your blog, because you have a creative response to most everything and you are full of insight. Thank you for that. ^_^

      In regards to whether something is a resident of Black Winter, I’m glad I’ve established Black Winter as a living place (in your mind). I always hoped to make the town its own character through the residents and souls within it. I am expanding on residents and lore as I can to flesh out the town more. It started as something very different this blog and now the town and its residents have truly made it live all in its own right.

      I appreciate everything (even the idea that you think it would make a great book w/wonderful illustrations) but no book plans yet my friend.

      Cheers! ^_^

      Like

Leave a Reply

