Entry 76: View From A Victim Who Lived In Apt. #2

*Gasping*

*Vomiting blood*

Slowly…I crawl

I-I don’t believe my legs work anymore

I ran while I could…though I suppose it was no use

I was doing so well

The woman with the scar on her face, she didn’t seem to give chase

I finally escaped…I thought

I left my apartment through the fire escape the moment the banging came

She never said a word as my door burst inward!

I hit ground level and began to run

I turned around once I crossed the street to see her staring at me

I was most disturbed by her face

The scar, I wasn’t sure what it meant

Once again though…I started to run…she gave no chase

I arrived at the Subway station hoping to get away

There was nothing and no one as I ran through the tunnels

I swore they were running, I know I heard something

I turned around and guessed what I found?

It was you, that woman with the scarred face

You said nothing, simply stared with quite the wicked glare

If looks could kill I would have been dead right there

I screamed for help, you simply smiled

I turned to run and felt a quick knife to my back

Falling I felt the knife ripped from my flesh

Then faster than I could blink…

I felt hundreds of cuts open up my skin

I began to bleed out quite quickly

Now I crawl, yet here you come

Slowly you walk now knowing I’m going to die

Watching me like some rat in a maze

Savoring every moment, I can see it in those cold dead eyes

That wicked grin, it will be over soon as I have no more energy to crawl…

You roll me over with one foot and lean in close

I know death is coming now

You smile again, knife to my face

You begin to carve away as my blood spews on your face

It looks fitting on you as I gag and sputter watching you walk away

You pin my face to a peg board on a wall

The knife holding it in place

Then from nowhere you pull out an axe

My last memory as I fade away is the sound of your maniacal laughter

…As your axe came down upon my face…

-View From A Victim Who Lived in Apt. 2-

10 thoughts on “Entry 76: View From A Victim Who Lived In Apt. #2

    • Thank you for reading and I’m glad you can view the scene as though you were there. I try to be fairly visual in most cases. I’ve found that poetry certainly has a way to grip an audience.

      I see things in my mind quite vividly so I often try to bring that visual style into the things I write. I have found in poetry, you have to be able to do this doubly so because though you could make the poem as long as you need, poetry requires you connect with the audience quickly because if it is lengthy they won’t read the rest if they aren’t engaged, and if it is short they won’t connect with it.

      Having a visual style is great, but you also need to find a way to engage an audience on a deeper level, even emotionally impact them, which is tricky when you write a horror/mystery full of countless characters and any entry be it poem or otherwise is often showcasing characters you don’t know, and don’t have a lot of time to understand.

      If it is all visual and no story or emotion, than you wind up being the Zach Snyder of the poetry world. Xp I love that dude’s movies for the visual style, but the writing isn’t usually on point. Still he tells such an engaging visual story I still love his films. Something I love about poetry is that it isn’t unlike novels where you would need to draw in the reader with that opening sentence, but at the same time is much shorter so you are really pressed to engage your reader.

      I’m likely not making a ton of sense, but I find it exhilarating and exciting to write poetry. Thank you so much for your kind words and I’m glad you enjoyed both the poem and that you feel the poems I write engage the reader.

      Cheers! ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Note to self, beware women with scarred faces. Also, never live in Apartment 2.

    The fact the apartment number was two was a little trippy. A fire escape coming out of the window on an apartment numbered two is clever, whether intentional or not. It created a subliminal mind twist.

    Stanley Kubrick, when he created the film adaptation of The Shining, created an impossible hotel. There are all kinds of impossible rooms, widows that shouldn’t be there (windows revealing the outside world even though the room is situated in the center of the hotel), and other subliminal messages. This created a very effective feeling of inexplicable dread as the viewers subconscious mind tried to make sense of the impossibility. Add the increasingly insane events to the dread of the building itself and you have a powerful combination.

    I thought it was an interesting twist to have the woman as the aggressor. If it was a man with a scarred face, I wouldn’t have batted an eyelash. But a woman with a scarred face, suddenly I’m asking all kinds of questions. Was she a victim at some point? What do these scars look like? Why does it matter? I don’t know. Perhaps some sort of built in subconscious sexism thrust onto me by society. Perhaps because we don’t see many stories with women wandering around and hacking people up.

    Regardless, great entry. You got the gears moving – as always.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sorry for the late reply. I had to work. Xp I can’t get anything past you. I like that! I was wondering if anyone would notice the fact it had been apartment 2 but she was going out a fire escape. That begs several questions but it is fun.

      I quite love The Shining! I found it to be a classic and a fun film that really gets into your psyche. I know it isn’t Kubrick but I also enjoyed the movie adaptation of 1408. I liked the imagery and the story was pretty good. It also helps I was the only person in the theater to buy a ticket when I went so it felt like I was getting my own private screening of the film.

      I do like to throw in things sometimes to see if people notice, so it is extra cool when someone does notice something in an entry that maybe isn’t as pronounced. Then again you do editing as well as writing so you probably view things pretty intently.

      Thank you for the comment and I’m glad you enjoyed the entry. I will be over to your blog soon enough.

      Cheers! ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

      • They couldn’t have picked a better actor for 1408, I love John Cusack. It’s the perfect trifecta for me given the actor, the story, and the genre. I haven’t read the book – oddly enough. Might need to jot that down on the to-read list!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I believe it is in “Everything’s Eventual”. It is one of his short story collections. It originally started out as an audio book short story in a different collection so I suppose choose what you would rather, listen or read, or both?

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

