Entry 61: This Is How It Ends

Late at night I see her in the street

An omen of the end

She stands in the black snow

As cold as the wind

I know not why but I know this is the part where I die

Or is it die again?

I’ve never truly been sure

This town confuses me more and more

If I try to remember a thing before

I’m stricken by a cold wind

It doesn’t matter if I’m outdoors or in

The wind, like she, puts a chill to my bones

She is always watching me

I’m not sure what I’ve done

Her cold dead eyes pierce my skin

Reaching into the bottom of my soul

I want to move but it’s no use

Like an endless nightmare I’ve relived time and again

I know this is my end

A low click comes from behind

Then…

BANG!

It all ends

-This Is How It Ends-

6 thoughts on “Entry 61: This Is How It Ends

    • Thank you! Yeah, I know it shorter compared to more recent poetry, and certainly not as involved as Entry 60 or some of the more recent ones, but I like to think it gets its point across in a short and succinct manner.

      I came to the New Post blank screen thinking, okay let’s see what it’s going to happen this time expecting something lengthy because the latest entries were very long and then that is what came up and I was okay. Awesome! Something shorter for once! Xp

      All kidding aside, I actually thought for a moment, I wonder if people are going to be like, oh that was good, but only okay compared to Entry 60 or something more involved, but I have to tell what is told to me nonetheless. So I did.

      Thank you so much!

      Cheers! ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

      • You know the best writing seems to happen when you just let the thoughts flow — definitely get carried away by it, but never forget to edit and tighten the focus, as well. There are times when you need to be lengthy — the work just calls for that; however succinct tales are just as effective. This poem, in particular, is a prime example. Nice work in brevity!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you…I just tried to nap after my latest post and had the most disturbing voice pop into my head. It will be the next thing I post. I’m prob not sleeping for a while. I’ve already posted twice so it won’t go up till around midnight if I’m awake (prob will be) or whenever I wake up on Sunday.

        It is short much like this Entry…

        Moving on to happier thoughts:
        I love hearing what you get out of the writing I make and discussing your writing. I feel I learn a lot simply from your comments. You know quite a bit about the craft and I love listening to your thoughts on writing in general.

        I feel like I’m being educated. Even more so when I read your writing!

        Thank you for the kind words and happy thoughts.

        Cheers! ^_^

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m not an expert in any field, really, but I do like to pretend I am πŸ˜€ I’ve just been around the block a few times and have seen and picked up on things. Yes, happy, kind thoughts to you always. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

