Quote Challenge Day 1

So I awoke to find I had been nominated to take part in this challenge. I would like to thank Christine Valentor Witch like for nominating me for this challenge. Sorry for the delay Christine I had to go to work. 😉
Rules for said challenge go as follows:


1. Thank the person who nominated you.


2. Post 1-3 quotes a day for 3 straight days


3. Nominate 3 bloggers to do the same
I’m going to nominate the following 3:

Phoenix Risen

Dead Donovan

Poet Rummager

The quote I will use for day 1 has been attributed to Winston Churchhill although there is no evidence suggesting it originated with him, and many have used the same or similar quotes. One such use was in the game Modern Warfare 2 

The quote is: “History is written by the victors”.
I’m sure you all have heard it or something similar but let me take a moment and explain why I love this quote so much. The main reason is it holds an undeniable truth when used in terms of war. We live in crazy times nowadays, but think back. In WWII, imagine if the Allies had lost. It would be a horrific thing many would believe (myself included). That being said there is another reason I love the quote so much. 
Right now, America, we of the good ol USA hold a great deal of power militarily and we use that for better or worse to interfere with many goings on in the world. We are at war right now in many regards. In history books we write ourselves and our allies as the great liberators. We liberated and saved the world together from the great evil that was the Axis powers. 
Now as we all know, good and evil is ultimately a matter of perspective. Imagine once again the Axis had won. What do you think their history books would say? Likely something similar. I doubt they saw themselves as evil. They would likely be saying how they changed the world for the better and destroyed the evil rebellion that was the Allies. They would be heroes and we would be villains. Pretty interesting how that works huh?
It is a huge part of why I love the quote. I’m a firm believer in many things. So I imagine there is a parallel universe out there or many where we unfortunately did lose. I like to think their text books say much the same thing. Assuming the world wasn’t wiped out of course for which is another discussion I won’t get into because parallel universes and theories on such is something I could talk about for centuries. 
Thank you for your time everyone.
Cheers! ^_^

5 thoughts on “Quote Challenge Day 1

  1. Great post and thanks for accepting my challenge!

    I totally agree with this — in fact , I believe all history IS written with a bias.

    I am totally down with the parallel universe also. I am sure there are many parallel universes — in which we lost, in which Hiroshima dropped the bomb on the U.S., in which there was no war at all… and many other scenarios 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • No worries. I think it is a pretty cool and fun challenge. That quote really makes me think. It always has. I was thinking about parallel universes earlier and was thinking much the same in regards to Hiroshima and Nagasaki dropping the bomb on us, or there not even being a war.

      Thank you again for inviting me into the challenge. I already know where I’m going with Day 3, but still pondering tomorrow’s quote. 😉

      Cheers! ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’m the same, no worries, there is no obligation. I’m not normally one to participate in such things, but I figured why not, it is a nice change.

      I had to nominate other souls, you were one who came to mind.

      I promise no worries or obligation. Xp I imagine the other nominee was thinking the same.

      Cheers! ^_^

      Like

Leave a Reply

